We consider it to be our duty to draw the European Parliament's undivided attention:

  • to the danger of the political and human deviations that we are witnessing today,

  • to the calling into question of the fundamental values which, in the aftermath of the Second World War, had served as the bedrock upon which a peaceful, tolerant Europe was founded, which cared about social progress and was resolutely vigilant to commit itself so that the roots of the national socialist evil would never regrow,

  • to the historical fact that today's Europe was born well before the signature of the Treaty of Rome: it was born in the midst of the suffering of the nazi camps, in the hearts and minds of these tens of thousands of men and women, from all over a Europe occupied and ravaged by national socialism.

As the guardians of the memory of the victims of the nazi camps, we urge all Europeans to resist hate speech, nationalist, racist, xenophobic, antisemitic ideologies, as well as the illusion maintained by demagogical politicians according to which their prosperity and their happiness would be founded upon the rejection of the Other because of her/his ethnic origin, beliefs or political convictions.

We appeal to them to bear in mind the hard-won lessons of the history of the last century and to keep alive the values of peace, dialogue, solidarity, respect for the rights and the dignity of the human person, which have been willed to us by the men and women who have survived the national socialist hell.

Time for Outrage!” urged nazi concentration camp survivor, diplomat, and great humanist Stéphane Hessel, who with René Cassin was among the authors of the text of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 1948.

Let us be outraged, and let us remember, so that we may better act and react together.”


First signatories:


ANED Associazione Nazionale Ex Deportati Nei Campi nazisti

  • Dario Venegoni, Président

  • Aldo Pavia: Vice-Président

  • Tiziana Valpiana, Vice-Présidente

  • Leonardo Visco Gilardi, Secrétaire national

  • Marco Balestra, Trésorier


AUSCHWITZ : Comité International d'Auschwitz

  • Roman KENT, New York, Président

  • Christoph HEUBNER, Berlin, Vice-Président exécutif

  • Marian TURSKI, Varsovie, Vice-Président

  • Raphaël ESRAIL, Paris, Vice-Président

  • Prof. Felix KOLMER, Prague, Vice-Président

  • Henri GOLDBERG, Bruxelles, Vice-Président

  • Hannah LESSING, Vienne, Présidence

  • György MIHALY, Budapest, Présidence

  • Frédéric CRAHAY, Bruxelles, Présidence

  • Marta MALA, Prague, Présidence

  • Isabelle ERNOT, Paris, Présidence


BUCHENWALD-DORA: Comité International Buchenwald-Dora and kommandos

  • Dominique DURAND, Président

  • Agnès TRIEBEL, Secrétaire générale



DACHAU: Comité International de Dachau

  • Jean-Michel THOMAS, Président

  • Abba NAOR, Vice-Président

  • Benoît DARMONT, Vice-Président

  • Jean SAMUEL, Secrétaire général émérite

  • Rom STEENSMA, Secrétaire général

  • Sonja HOLTZ-ARENDSE, Trésorière


FIR: International Federation of Resistance Fighters

  • Vilmos HANTI, Président

  • Filippo GIUFFRIDA, Vice-Président 
  • Dr. Ulrich SCHNEIDER, Secrétaire général


FLOSSENBÜRG: Amicale de Flossenbürg

  • Michel Clisson, Président


MAUTHAUSEN: Comité International de Mauthausen

  • Dusan STEFANCIC, Président honoraire

  • Guy DOCKENDORF, Président
  • Andreas BAUMGARTNER, Secrétaire général

  • Albert LANGANKE, Secr. gén. honoraire

  • Floriana MARIS, Vice-Présidente

  • Jean-Louis ROUSSEL, Vice-Président

  • Alexey KONOPATCHENKOV, Vice-Président

  • Jacek TARASIEWEICZ, Vice-Président

  • Ingrid BAUZ, Secrétaire

  • Monika KOKALJ KOCEVAR, Trésorière

MAUTHAUSEN: Mauthausen Komitee Österreich

  • Willi MERNYI, Président

  • Christa BAUER, Directrice

  • Irmgard ASCHBAUER, Österreichische Lagergemeinschaft


MAUTHAUSEN: Bewusstseinsregion Mauthausen - Gusen - Langenstein

  • Erich WAHL, (St. Georgen/Gusen), Président

  • Thomas PUNKENHOFER (Mauthausen), Vice-Président

  • Christian AUFREITER (Langenstein), Vice-Président

  • Andrea WAHL, Directrice

NATZWEILER - STRUTHOF: Comité International de Natzweiler-Struthof C.I.N. 

  • Jean-Marie MULLER, Président

  • Claes REKSTEN, Vice-Président - Secrétaire gén.

  • Lex HUSS, Trésorier général


NEUENGAMME: Amicale Internationale KZ Neuengamme

  • Jean-Michel GAUSSOT, Président 

  • Martine LETTERIE Vice-Présidente
  • Mark VAN DEN DRIESSCHE, Vice-Président

  • Helle VIBEKE SØRENSEN, Vice-Présidente

  • Christine ECKEL, Secrétaire générale

  • Uta KÜHL, Trésorière


RAVENSBRÜCK: Internationales Ravensbrück Komitee

  • Ambra LAURENZI, Présidente

  • Jeanine BOCHAT, Vice-Présidente 

  • Hanna Novakowska, Vice-Présidente

  • Bärbel SCHINDLER-SAEFKOW, Secrétaire générale

  • Sarka KADLEKOVA, Secrétaire générale adjointe

  • Marie-France CABEZA-MARNET, Trésorière

SACHSENHAUSEN: Comité International de Sachsenhausen

  • Bernt H. LUND, Président

  • Andreas MEYER, Vice-Président

  • Dik de BOEF, Secrétaire général

  • André LASSAGUE, Trésorier